Multi-Disciplinary Organization Dedicated to Promoting Advances in
Neuro-Oncology Through Research and Education

SNO-SCIDOT Joint Conference on Therapeutic Delivery to the CNS

Register Now!

Read Full Story

Registration Now OPen

SNO Annual Meeting - November 16 - 19, 2017

Read Full Story

Announcing Neuro-Oncology Fellowship Match Program

Applications open October 2, 2017 for 2019/2020 positions

Read Full Story
View All News


International Meeting on Meningioma

Read Full Story


Mayo Clinic Neuroscience and Oncology Innovation Summit 2017

Read Full Story


SNO-SCIDOT Joint Conference on Therapeutic Delivery to the CNS

Read Full Story

SNO-SCIDOT Joint Conference on Therapeutic Delivery to the CNS


November 18-19, 2015 Marriott Rivercenter Hotel

San Antonio, Texas (held in conjunction with the SNO Annual Meeting)

 Scroll to end for registration and hotel information


Conference Overview

The Society for Neuro-Oncology (SNO) and the Society for CNS Interstitial Delivery of Therapeutics (SCIDOT) invite you to attend the 2015 SNO-SCIDOT Joint Conference on Therapeutic Delivery to the CNS which will be held on November 18th and 19th in San Antonio, Texas (in conjunction with the SNO Annual Meeting). 

At last year’s successful CNS Anticancer Drug Discovery and Development Conference, organized by Victor Levin, one of the messages that was repeated throughout the meeting was that most of the drugs that are investigated for brain cancer do not reach their cellular targets at effective concentrations, and hence more needs to be done to both demonstrate target effects in humans, and improve delivery. Over the past two decades, there have been multiple attempts to address this seminal issue in neuro-oncology, with only limited success. Recently, however, there has been a resurgent interest in therapeutic delivery to the CNS, and while some progress has been made in the clinical setting, multiple challenges remain present. To register, click here. 


Educational Content

The 2015 SNO-SCIDOT Joint Conference on Therapeutic Delivery to the CNS will address the multiple laboratory and clinical advances that have been made in the field of interstitial delivery of therapeutics. Sessions will cover a wide range of topics including the physiology of the blood-brain-barrier (BBB), methods for overcoming the BBB, development of novel technologies and techniques for surgical treatment of brain tumors, novel devices for delivering drugs directly into the brain, drug carriers, modeling of drug delivery, non-oncologic applications of direct delivery of therapeutics to the CNS, and updates on ongoing and completed clinical trials.

The two-day scientific program will include invited presentations from a wide range of investigators and thought-leaders in the various fields that comprise direct delivery of therapeutics to the brain, as well as oral and poster presentations of original scientific work.


Registration and Hotel Accommodations

To register, click here. For registration questions, contact program registrar Linda Greer

Hotel accommodations at the Marriott Rivercenter Hotel in conjunction with the SNO Annual Meeting block. To reserve a room at the Marriott, click here.


Planning Committee

  • SCIDOT Chair: Michael A. Vogelbaum MD, PhD - Cleveland Clinic
  • SNO Chair: Gelareh Zadeh MD, PhD - University of Toronto

 Committee Members

  • Raghu Raghavan PhD – Therataxis, Inc.
  • Waldemar Debinski MD, PhD - Wake Forest University School of Medicine
  • John H. Sampson MD, PhD – Duke University
  • Russell Lonser MD - Ohio State University
  • Krys Bankiewicz MD, PhD - University of California, San Francisco
  • Zvi Ram MD - Tel Aviv University
  • Manfred Westphal MD - University of Hamburg – Eppendorf


Confirmed Speakers

Keynote Speaker: Edward H. Oldfield, MD University of Virginia

Manish Aghi, MD, PhD University of California
Krystof Bankiewicz, MD, PhD University of California
Gene Barnett, MD, MBA Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Walter Block, PhD University of Wisconsin
John Boockvar, MD Hofstra-North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine
Martin Brady, PhD Therataxis, LLC
Nicholas Butowski, MD University of California
Roxana Carare ,MD, PhD University of Southampton
Scott Coffield, MD Scott and White Memorial Hospital
Rafael Davalos, PhD Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Waldemar Debinski, PhD Wake Forest University
William Elmquist, PharmD, PhD University of Minnesota
Eva Feldman, MD, PhD University of Michigan Medical School
Steven Gill, MB, FRCS, MS North Bristol NHS Trust
Matthias Gromeier, MD Duke University Medical Center
Stuart Grossman, MD Johns Hopkins University
John Heiss, MD National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke
Jeffrey Iliff, PhD Oregon Health and Science University
Sadhana Jackson, MD Johns Hopkins University
Frederick Lang, MD MD Anderson Cancer Center
Owen Lewis, Renishaw, PLC
Daniel Lim, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco
Antonella Mangraviti, MD Johns Hopkins University
Yael Mardor, PhD Sheba Medical Center
Edward Neuwelt, MD Oregon Health Sciences University
William Olbricht, PhD Cornell University
William Pardridge, MD University of California
Zvi Ram, MD Tel Aviv Medical Center
Christopher Rylander, PhD University of Texas
W. Mark Saltzman, PhD Yale University
Malisa Sarntinoranont, PhD University of Florida
Christopher Shaffer, PhD Pfizer, Inc.
Deep Singh, Alcyone Lifesciences
Mark Souweidane, MD Weill Cornell Medical College
Angelo Vescovi, PhD IRCCS Ospedale Casa Sollievo della Sofferenza
Michael  Vogelbaum, MD, PhD Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Colin Watts, MBBS, PhD University of Cambridge
Patrick Wen MD Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Manfred Westphal, MD University Hospital Hamburg
Alan Whone, MBChB, PhD, University of Bristol
Gelareh Zadeh, MD, PhD UHN - Toronto Western Hospital
Michael Zalutsky, PhD, MA Duke University Medical Center


Abstract Information (submission deadline passed)

The conference organizers will include abstract presentations of original research on the interstitial delivery of therapeutics to the CNS selected from the following categories: 

  • BBB Physiology and Barriers to CNS drug distribution
  • Pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of CNS therapeutics
  • Methods for evaluating drug delivery to the CNS
  • Devices that directly treat CNS pathology
  • Pharmacologic approaches to overcoming the BBB
  • Devices for delivery of therapeutics to the CNS
  • Nanoparticles and liposomes for drug delivery
  • Gene therapy for CNS pathology
  • Clinical trials using convection enhanced delivery
  • Regulatory considerations for delivery of therapeutics directly into the CNS
  • Mathematical and computational modeling of transport in the CNS


Exhibit and Support

At this meeting, there is the opportunity to exhibit and support the conference.  For more details click here to download the prospectus.  If you have any questions, please contact Megan Bell by email or by phone 713-526-0269.