Multi-Disciplinary Organization Dedicated to Promoting Advances in
Neuro-Oncology Through Research and Education

CNS Anticancer Drug Discovery and Development White Paper

View article to download PDF copy

Read Full Story

New Consensus Recommendations Announced for Standardized Imaging Protocol in Brain Tumor Clinical Trials

Brain Tumor Imaging Protocol Will Reduce Variability in Magnetic Resonance Imaging and Increase Accuracy in ...

Read Full Story

SNO Pre-Conference Sessions

November 18 - 19, San Antonio, Texas immediately preceding the SNO Annual Meeting

Read Full Story
View All News


Gamma Knife Perfexion Training Course

Read Full Story


9th Annual International Symposium on Stereotactic Body Radiation Therapy and Stereotactic Radiosurgery

Read Full Story


SNOLA 2016 - Update on Neuro-Oncology

Read Full Story

SNO History

In the early 1990s, clinical and research activities in neuro-oncology were concentrated in a few major medical centers, but the growing and diverse scientific needs of the existing and emerging scientific community had expanded beyond the scope of the existing organizations.
The need for an organized effort to fill this gap and coordinate the activities in neuro-oncology was recognized in late 1994 by Victor Levin, MD, then Chair of the Department of Neuro-Oncology at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, Texas. Dr. Levin, joined by a core group of neuro-oncology professionals from multiple specialties articulated a shared vision of an organization that would promote multidisciplinary interactions and provide balanced representation for all specialties interested in advancing research and treatment of neurological malignancies. On January 31, 1996, SNO was incorporated as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization in the state of Texas.
The first officers and Board of Directors were elected in 1995 with Dr. Victor Levin serving as the first President, Dr. Michael Prados as the Vice-President and Dr. Stuart Grossman as the Secretary-Treasurer. The first Board of Directors included Drs. Mitchel Berger, Darell Bigner, Jan Buckner, Peter Burger, J. Gregory Cairncross, Steven Leibel and Roger Packer.
SNO has flourished since its inception, emerging from a young organization to a fully mature one, with a rich history and an awareness of the challenges and responsibilities which lie ahead. Indeed, SNO would have fulfilled its basic function if it had merely provided a reliable forum for professional and academic exchange for its members. It has clearly exceeded this goal. SNO has become a dynamic force in neuro-oncology, providing a rich environment for its diverse worldwide membership and energizing the next generation of neuro-oncology scientists and clinicians through educational and cultural forums.
2010 marked the 15th anniversary of the founding of the Society for Neuro-Oncology. To commemorate this milestone, the leadership commissioned SNO historians Abhijit Guha and Vinay Puduvalli to develop a brochure to chronicle the history of our Society and to celebrate the vision and efforts of the founders and members who have steered SNO to its current place.
The SNO 15th anniversary brochure can be downloaded by clicking here.

History Committee
Jan Esenwein
Abhijit Guha
Charles Haynes
Frederick Lang
Victor Levin
Vinay Puduvalli