SNO Awards


Abhijit Guha Award and Lecture 

Jointly sponsored by the Section on Tumors of the AANS/CNS and the Society for Neuro-Oncology and presented at their respective annual meeting on alternate years, the Guha Award will recognize an accomplished investigator who has achieved significant results both in the laboratory and the clinic. In addition, the recipient will have played an active role in the mentorship of the next generation of neuro-oncology professionals.

2019 David Gutmann
2018 Linda Liau
2017 Frederick Lang
2016 Michael Taylor
2015 John Sampson
2014 Kenneth Aldape
2013 Henry Brem
2012 James Rutka

SNO Lifetime Achievement Award

The SNO Lifetime Achievement Award is given to a meritorious individual who has made significant contributions in neuro-oncology over his/her career, either in clinical care and/or translational or basic research.

2019 Jonathan Finlay
2018  Gregory Cairncross
2017 Webster Cavenee
2016 Margaret Wrensch
2015 WK Alfred Yung
2014 Darrel Bigner
2011 Jerome Posner
2010 Peter Burger
2008 Charles Wilson
2007 Joan and William Shapiro
2002 Victor Levin

The Victor Levin Award and Lecture in Neuro-Oncology Research

This award will honor an individual with a career commitment to neuro-oncology who has demonstrated leadership and, through scientific innovation, has made extraordinary achievements in neuro-oncology research.

2019 Patrick Wen
2018 E. Antonio Chiocca
2017 Susan Chang
2016 David Louis
2015 Mitchel Berger
2014 Michael Prados
2013 Roger Stupp and Monika Hegi
2012 Gregory Cairncross and Robert Jenkins
2011 Kenneth Aldape
2010 Abhijit Guha

Jan Esenwein Public Service Award

The Society for Neuro-Oncology Jan Esenwein Public Service Award recognizes a meritorious individual (or group) who has made significant contributions to the field of neuro-oncology.  The individual shall have advanced the field of neuro-oncology through his/her actions in one or more of the following ways: 
• Increased public awareness of brain cancer
• Advanced advocacy
• Promoted legislative action
• Supported the mission of the Society for Neuro-Oncology

2019 Kay Verble
2018 Chas Haynes
2017 Carol Kruchko
2016 Mary Lovely
2015 Jan Esenwein
2014 Denis Strangman
2013 W.K. Alfred Yung
2012 Edward Shaw

Neuro-Oncology Community Service Award

The Neuro-Oncology Community Service Award recognizes a meritorious individual or organization who has made significant contributions to the neuro-oncology community.

2019 Kathy Oliver
2018 David Arons



Adult Basic Science Research Award

2019 Sandeep Burma, Katrin Lamszus
2018 Candice Poon, Farshad Nassiri
2017 Joydeep Mukherjee, David Raleigh
2016 Sören Müller
2015 Andrew Venteicher, Felix Nwajei
2014 Eskil Eskilsson
2014 Roel Verhaak
2013 Jun Fu
2012 Justin Lathia, Ralf S. Schmid, Michael Weller
2011 Kenneth Aldape, Justin Lathia, Kristine Dziurzynski
2010 Krishna Bhat, Frank Furnari
2009 Aaron Tannenbaum, Lynette Moore
2007 Xing Fan
2006 D. Kamnasaran, Shideng Bao
2005 Hideyuki Saya
2004 Jessica Martin, Jessica McCready, Helen Fillmore, Sheila Singh
2003 Stacey Ivanchuk
2002 Erik Uhlmann
2001 Giulia Fulci
2000 Eric Holland
1999 Abhijit Guha
1998 David Louis, J. Gregory Cairncross
1997 Oliver Bogler
1996 Patrick Wen

Adult Clinical Research Award

2019 Andrew Lassman
2018 Martin van den Bent, Ingo Mellinghoff
2017 Ulrich Herrlinger, Ingo Mellinghoff
2016 David Reardon
2015 David A. Reardon, Susan M. Chang
2014 Martin van den Bent, Jan Buckner
2013 Mark Gilbert, Olivier L. Chinot
2012 Olivier Chinot
2010 Tracy Batchelor, Mark Gilbert
2009 Riccardo Soffietti, Mei-Yin Polley
2008 Edward Shaw
2007 David Schomas, Justin Smith
2006 Meng Law, Christopher Pelloski
2004 Gary Archer, Martin van den Bent
2003 John Suh
2002 Paul Sperduto
2001 Jan Buckner
1997 Michael Prados
2000 Ronald Warnick
1999 James Markert
1998 Edward Shaw

Adult Epidemiology Award

2015 Michael E. Scheurer
2014 Kyle Walsh
2013 Melissa Bondy
2012 Robert B. Jenkins
2010 Rose Lai
2008 Bridget McCarthy
2007 Fredrick Barker
2006 Michael Scheurer
2005 Robert Jenkins
2004 Margaret Wrensch
2003 Edward Shaw
2002 Serap Erdal, Faith Davis
2000 Margaret Wrensch
1999 P. Chen

Adult Quality of Life Research Award

2016 Craig Horbinski
2015 Jacqueline B. Stone
2014 Esther Habets
2012 Rakesh Jalali
2011 Terri Armstrong
2009 Andrea Pace
2008 Karin Gehring
2007 Rakesh Jalali
2004 Stephen Rapp
2006 Jing Li
2003 Stewart Goldman
2002 Elana Farace
2001 Martin Klein
2000 Morris Groves, Roger Packer

Adult Translational Research Award

2016 Elizabeth Stoll
2015 Antonio Iavarone
2014 Jeanette Eckell-Passow, Priscilla Brastiano
2013 Colin Watts
2012 Gelareh Zadeh
2011 Frank Furnari, Pablo Valdes

Neuro-Imaging Award

2019 Benjamin Ellingson

Pediatric Basic Science Award

2019 Marie Anne Debily, Bryan K. Li
2018 Nathan Dahl, Santiago Haase
2017 Brittany Campbell, Sriram Venneti
2016 Christine Hoeman
2015 Carl Koschmann
2014 Paul Northcutt, Haotian Zhao
2013 Katy Taylor, Rintaro Hashizume
2012 Sebastian Bender
2011 Mark Gilbert
2010 Adrian Dubuc
2009 Dominik Sturm, Robert Johnson
2008 David Gutmann, Young-Goo Han
2007 David Gutmann, Michael Taylor
2006 Zeng-Jie Yang
2004 Michael Taylor
2003 Erik Uhlmann
2002 Ganesh Rao, Daniel Fults
2001 Howard Weiner
2000 Waldemar Debinski
1999 Cynthia Wetmore
1998 Jacqueline Biegel

Pediatric Clinical Research Award

2019 Giles W. Robinson
2017 Leanne Embry, Iska Moxon-Emre
2016 Alan Mackay
2014 Rakesh Jalali
2013 Eric Bouffet
2012 Jonathan L. Finlay
2010 David Franz
2008 Sridharan Gururangan
2002 Ian Pollack
2001 Jonathan Finlay
2000 Jeffery Allen
1999 Roger Packer
1998 Roger Packer

Pediatric Epidemiology Research Award

2013 Sabine Mueller

Pediatric Quality of Life Research Award

2014 Don Mabbott 

Pediatric Translational Research Award

2016 Cameron Herting
2015 Nadja V. Batora
2014 Sorana Morrissy
2012 Shih-Shan Lang

Andrew Parsa Young Investigator Award for Basic/Translational Research

2019 Ann-Christin Hau
2018 Andrew Lin
2017 Joydeep Mukherjee
2016 Daniel Orringer
2015 Deliang Guo
2014 Shawn Hingtoen, Haotion Zhao

Young Investigator Award for Clincal Research

2016 Fumiharu Ohka
2015 Kyle Walsh

Applied Neuro-Oncology Award

2018 Vinai Gondi
2017 Denise Correa, Martin Klein

Women in Neuro-Oncology Clinical Research Award

2019 Sharon Gardner

Women in Neuro-Oncology Basic/Translational Science Award

2019 Pavithra Viswanath

Women in Neuro-Oncology Mid-Career Exemplary Physician Award

2019 Jaishri Blakeley

Women in Neuro-Oncology Mentorship Award

2019 Susan Chang

SNO-EANO Travel Award

2019 Johnny Duerinck


1999 Michael and Dianne Traynor
2000 Naomi Berkowitz


Farber Award and Lecture

Sponsored by the Farber Foundation, the Farber Award is presented at the annual meetings of the AANS and Society for Neuro-Oncology on alternate years. The recipient is selected by the presidents of the two societies and the Section Awards Chair based on nominees from the executive committees of both societies. The $5,000 award recognizes the most promising investigators who are achieving significant results early in their careers and is given only once to a recipient. The award transitioned to the Guha Award in 2012.

2010 Roger Stupp
2009 Peter Dirks
2008 E. Antonio Chiocca
2007 Paul Mischel
2006 Mitchel Berger
2005 James T. Rutka
2004 Eric C. Holland
2003 David N. Louis
2002 Abhiijt Guha
2001 Robert Martuza
2000 Stuart Grossman
1999 Edward Oldfield
1998 Mark Israel
1997 Peter Burger
1996 Gregory Cairncross
1995 Philip Gutin
1994 Web Cavenee

Latest News

SNO Conference on Brain Metastases Rescheduled

Join us in August 2021 in Toronto

SNO Guidance on COVID-19

Important Information for the Neuro-Oncology Community

SNO-NCI Joint Symposium: Targeting CNS Tumor Metabolism

October 26-27, 2020. Now Accepting Abstracts

SNO Webinar Series

Wellness Webinar - June 3, 1pm EST